Our Board


Dr. Gijs H. Goossens has served as NASO’s President since 2014. Before taking the position as President, he has been NASO’s Secretary (from 2010-2014). He is currently holding a position as an Associate Professor at the Department of Human Biology, NUTRIM School of Nutrition and Translational Research in Metabolism, Maastricht University Medical Centre. Dr. Goossens has been co-chair and chair of the organizing committees of satellites held at the European Congresses on Obesity (2007: ‘Techniques to study in vivo metabolism in humans’; 2009: ‘Lipids and insulin resistance’) , co-chair of EASO’s Bjorntorp symposium (2012, Maastricht: ‘Metabolic flexibility: the key to health?’), member of the International Scientific Committee for ECO2015 (Prague), ECO2017 (Porto), ECO2018 (Vienna) and ECO2019 (Glasgow), has been a Board member of EASO’s New Investigators United from 2010-2016, and is co-chair of EASO’s Scientific Advisory Board since 2017. Amongst other awards, he has been awarded the prestigious EASO Young Investigator Award in Clinical Research (2011) and the European Foundation for the Study of Diabetes (EFSD/Novo Nordisk) Rising Star Award (2014).

E-mail: [email protected]



Dr. Eva Corpeleijn from the department of Epidemiology, University Medical Center Gronigen (UMCG), Rijksuniversiteit Gronigen (RuG) has served as NASO’s secretary since 2014. Eva is head of the unit ‘Lifestyle Medicine in Obesity and Diabetes’ and PI of the GECKO Drenthe birth cohort with a special focus on the development of childhood obesity. She has been member of the International Scientific Committee for EASD 2013 in Barcelona, Spain, on the topic of Epidemiology. She was secretary (2011-2013) and chair (2013 – 2015) of the annual Dutch Nutrition Science Days.

E-mail: [email protected]



Prof. dr. Andries Kalsbeek from the Department of Endocrinology and Metabolism, Academic Medical Center (AMC) in Amsterdam has served as NASO’s Treasurer since 2011. Andries is head of the Laboratory of Experimental Endocrinology in the AMC as well as teamleader of the Hypothalamic Integrations Mechanisms group at the Netherlands Institute for Neuroscience, and institute of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW). He has been a (co-)chair of the international symposium ‘Nutrition, Metabolism and the Brain’ (2005, Amsterdam; 2009, Amsterdam; 2011, Groningen and 2013, Amsterdam), as well as the XI Congess of the European Biological Rhythm Society in Strasbourg (2009).

Email: [email protected]